The costs of medical bills and lost income can be exorbitant after a serious collision. Because the state of Mississippi is a “fault” auto insurance state, the insurance company of the driver who causes an accident will be responsible for covering the damages. But what happens if the motorist who caused your injuries does not have insurance?
Fortunately, there are several possible ways to recover compensation after a crash with an uninsured driver. The best approach will depend on the language of your own insurance policies, the types of insurance you carry, and the specific facts of your case.
If you were injured or lost a family member in a wreck with an uninsured motorist, contact Ballard Law, PLLC. Attorney William E. Ballard will investigate your case and provide comprehensive legal guidance.
Mr. Ballard will help you fight for the maximum settlement, and if your case goes to trial, he has the litigation experience and resources to represent your interests in court. Call 769-572-5111 to schedule a free consultation with a personal injury lawyer in Madison.
Let’s examine three possible ways to recover compensation after a collision with an uninsured driver:
- File a Claim against Your Own Uninsured Motorist Policy
In the state of Mississippi, all auto insurance providers must offer uninsured motorist (UM) coverage with any policy; however, you can reject UM coverage in writing. If you did not reject UM coverage, you should be able to file a claim against your own UM policy.
- Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
If you do not have uninsured motorist coverage, your lawyer will turn to your PIP policy. Personal Injury Protection covers healthcare expenses, lost income, accidental death, and funeral costs no matter who was at fault for the crash.
- Sue the At-Fault Driver
If you do not have uninsured motorist coverage or PIP coverage, or if your policy limits are not enough to cover your losses, your attorney might recommend filing a lawsuit against the driver who caused your accident. Unfortunately, uninsured motorists typically do not have the funds to pay for the damages they cause in collisions. Your lawyer can investigate your case to determine if filing a lawsuit would be worth your time.
What Are the Minimum Auto Insurance Requirements in Mississippi?
According to the Mississippi Insurance Department, all drivers in the state of Mississippi are required to carry auto insurance that meets the following minimum limits:
- $25,000 for bodily injury per person per accident;
- $50,000 for bodily injury per accident; and
- $25,000 for property damage per accident.
Unfortunately, these limits are often not sufficient to pay for medical bills, lost income, and other damages caused in accidents. If you were injured by an uninsured or underinsured driver in Mississippi, contact Ballard Law, PLLC to discuss your case. Call 769-572-5111 to arrange a free initial consultation with a personal injury lawyer in Madison.